During the 1996-97 school year, ten superintendents began discussions of ways they could work together to make their districts more efficient and more effective.  In the fall of 1997, those superintendents formalized a working collaboration that was named the Western Piedmont Education Consortium.


    The original intent of the ten superintendents was to find ways to save money, save time and to strengthen operations through sharing costs, sharing resources and sharing expertise.


    Executive Directors of WPEC:

    Liz Warren

    Mack Ellis

    Dr. Ray Wilson

    Dr. Billy Strickland

    Administrative Assistants:

    Cindy Humphreys

    Susan McKinney


    Superintendents of Original 10 Districts



    AbbevilleDick GarrettMike CampbellIvan RandolphSharon Wall
    Jonathan Phipps
    EdgefieldClarence DickertSharon KeesleyMary Rice CrenshawGreg AndersonRobert Maddox
    Greenwood 50John KinlawBill SteedDarrell Johnson

    Greenwood 51Ray WilsonFay Sprouse

    Greenwood 52Gerald RobinsonDan PowellMark PetersenSharon Wall

    Laurens 55Ed TaylorBilly StricklandSteven G. Peters

    Laurens 56Vicki PhelpsCharles LackeyWayne BrazellDavid O'Shields
    McCormickCharles ParnellLloyd HunterSandra CallihamEarlean SmileyWilliam Wright
    Don Doggett
    NewberryTEC DowlingTom FaulkenberryKeith CallicuttWalt TobinBennie Bennett Jim Suber
    SaludaLinda HawkinsNelson PerryPete StoneDavid Mathis